Disco Roto

¡DISCO ROTO! Superheroes + Souls

Thursday, September 11

On tonight’s edition: Michele K-tel plays songs of superheroes, 9/11, drugz and more newness from Pere Ubu, Souls of Mischief, Deerhoof, Norwegian trumpeter Arve Henriksen and French Cuban sister duo Ibeyi. Reports reveal it was a bit #bracing.

Souls Of Mischief “Ghetto Superhero” There Is Only Now (Linear Labs)
Laurie Anderson “O Superman” Big Science (Nonesuch)
David Cross “Spiderman Vs. Batman Vs. Wonder Woman On The Rag” Shut Up, You Fucking Baby!(Sub Pop)
Link Wray & The Wraymen “Batman Theme” Rumble! (Rhino)
Sun Ra Arkestra (w/ Lacy Gibson) I Am Gonna Unmask The Batman The Singles (Evidence)

Ty Segall “It’s Over” Manipulator (Drag City)
The Hive Dwellers “Your Kissing Me” Moanin’ (K) 9/15 @Stranded Records in Oakland
David Kilgour and the Heavy 8’s “Dropper” End Times Undone (Merge)
Peter Jefferies “Don’t Look Down” Electricity (AJAX)
Anais Mitchell “Coming Down” Young Man in American (Righteous Babe) 9/17 @The Chapel in SF

Juçara Marçal “Não Tenha Ódio No Verão” Encarnado
Metá Metá “São Paulo no Shaking” MetaL MetaL (Mais Um Disco)
Khun Narin “Lai Sing” Khun Narin’s Electric Phin Band (Innovative Leisure)
Os Impacto “Uma Velha Foi A Feira” Cazumbi: African Sixties Garage Vol. 2 – Garage Rock, Surf And Psych Howlers From The Vaults Of African Colonies (No Smoke Records)
Caetano Veloso “Base De Guantanamo” Zii E Zie (Nonesuch)
Ibeyi “River” Oya (XL)

Pere Ubu “Golden Surf II” Carnival of Souls (Fire)
DakhaBrakha “Tjolky” Light (DakhaBrakha)
The Bug Feat. Manga “Function” Angels & Devils (Ninja Tune)
Polar Bear “They’re All Ks and Qs Lucien” In Each and Every One (The Leaf Label)
King Creosote “One Floor Down” From Scotland With Love (Domino)
Jean Redpath “Hishie Ba” Frae My Ain Countrie (Folk-Legacy)
Arve Henriksen “Budbringeren” The Nature Of Connections (Rune Grammofon)

Robyn Hitchcock “The Crystal Ship” The Man Upstairs (Yep Roc)
The New Pornographers “Another Drug Deal of the Heart” Brill Bruisers (Matador)
The Mountain Goats “Drug Life” Score! 20 Years of Merge Records: The Covers! (Merge)

Deerhoof “Paradise Girls” La Isla Bonita (Polyvinyl)


Comments are closed.