Mindtrain 11 – 11 October 2011

Tuesday, October 11

The featured release this week was Miraculous Mechanical Monster by Andrew Liles, concluding (for the time being, at least) my ongoing presentation of recordings from his richly diverse Monstrous series. This LP is the triumphant eruption of a sickly twisted and demented mind, as depraved as (and much funnier than) anything Frank Zappa ever put out. Thanks to Doktor Sleepless of the Interstellar Nihilism show for exposing me to this record (sick minds think alike, heh).

Other highlights of the program included C, a relatively early composition by Ryoji Ikeda (in ten parts), Vinny Golia’s music for contrabass saxophone, a couple long selections from the exemplary German dark ambient artist Apoptose, classic tracks by King Crimson and Alice Cooper, and songs from the Auricular Audio Magazine compilation series.

Listen To The Podcast

The playlist gives artist name, song title, and album title (in that order). A space between lines of text indicates the break between sets where track announcements were made.

Playlist for Mindtrain 11 – 11 October 2011

  • Ice-T – Midnight – O.G. Original Gangster
  • Ryoji Ikeda – C – 0 Degrees C
  • Nico & The Faction – Camera Obscura – Camera Obscura
  • Monica Richards – The Hunt – Infra-Warrior
  • My Boyfriend The Pilot – Blazing The Trail For A Stronger America – Auricular Audio Magazine #15 (Compilation)
  • Polyphonic Size – Nagasaki Mon Amour – The Prime Story
  • Zola Jesus – Swords – Conatus
  • Jan Steele – Distant Saxophones – Voices And Instruments
  • Frank Zappa & The Mothers Of Invention – Sleeping In A Jar – Uncle Meat
  • Vinny Golia – Single Booth Enclosure Third (Revisitation) – A Gift For The Unusual: Music For Contrabass Saxophone
  • Bennie Maupin – Excursion – The Jewel In The Lotus
  • 15 Degrees Below Zero – 3.12.1 / 2.19.2 – Resting On A
  • Waldteufel – In Den Zwolften – Rauhnacht
  • Black Light District – Die Wolfe Kommen Zuruck – A Thousand Lights In A Darkened Room
  • Vinny Golia – The 15th – A Gift For The Unusual: Music For Contrabass Saxophone
  • Apoptose – Ba-137m – Schattenmadchen
  • Alice Cooper – Blue Turk – School’s Out
  • Lothar And The Hand People – Machines – Presenting Lothar And The Hand People
  • Andrew Liles – The First Heart Attack Was The Best / To Kill The Monster – Miraculous Mechanical Monster
  • The Penetralia – Battlestar Fucking Galactica – Smatterings, Volume One (Compilation)
  • Apoptose – Asche – Schattenmadchen
  • Pierrot Lunaire – Plaisir d’Amour – Gudrun
  • Antony And The Johnsons – The Lake – The Lake
  • King Crimson – The Night Watch – Starless And Bible Black
  • David Lynch & Dean Hurley – The Air Is On Fire, Part VIII (Distortion) – The Air Is On Fire
  • Roque Banos – Trevor’s Lair / Sleepless – The Machinist (Original Soundtrack)
  • A Pyxie Worm – I Cut My Doll’s Hair And Now She’s Bald – Auricular Audio Magazine #13 (Compilation)
  • Theandria – When Death To Either Shall Come – Rebirth
  • King Crimson – Fracture – Starless And Bible Black

Comments are closed.